“Grilled As You Like It”

Okonomiyaki is a Japanese dish sometimes referred to as Japanese Pizza (although I had never heard of it as that). Actually I wasn’t familiar with Okonomiyaki at all; the name literally means “grilled as you like it” or “whatever you like, grilled”.

I ran across the recipe in an issue of Food&Wine (appropriated during a very long wait at the doctor’s office!) and was immediately intrigued. The dish was called Red Cabbage and Fried Mortadella Okonomiyaki. Mortadella! What’s not to love?! (I know. It’s just Italian Bologna with added fat. Again, what’s not to love?) Also, it gets topped with bacon, Kewpie Mayo, Sriracha sauce and Hoisin. Whaaaat?

Here is the photo from the magazine: img_6828

Here’s my version: img_2572

Not bad, right? The only change I made was that (here’s the irony), since I couldn’t find Mortadella at my local grocery store and I didn’t feel like driving to another store, I had to substitute fried Spam. Yeah, you read that right.

The Spam was for another Asian recipe that actually calls for it, that I made the night before.  But that’s for another post. I had the rest of my “Japanese Pizza” for lunch today and it reheats very well. Now I just have to figure out how to use half a leftover red cabbage. And the rest of the Spam.

