Tomato Jam

It was only as I was preparing this post that I realized that, relatively speaking, I focus quite a lot on tomatoes. Which is odd because good tasting tomatoes are so difficult to find. Or maybe it’s not odd; maybe I focus on them so much exactly because of that, like a yearning hardly ever gratified. In any case, there I was, with a bunch of home grown tomatoes ripening at once, and in the mood for something different. I meant to make my own catsup, but then ran across this recipe for Tomato Jam. I made it exactly as written, except that I cut down on the sugar by about 1/3-1/2 cup. I didn’t want to cut down too much because of course the sugar helps it gel and I had no liquid pectin. However, I had some powdered Sure-Jell for low sugar jams, so at the end I threw in a few tablespoons of that, cooked the jam some more, and it was still great. It’s more like chutney than either catsup or jam: a bit sweet, a bit spicy, a bit tangy……….I think that it would be especially good with chèvre or on cold meats.

Tomato Jam

 

