Tempura.

Here’s a little known fact: Tempura is originally Portuguese! You can check it out here. I learned this initially from a Curtis Stone video in which he demonstrates preparing fish with tempura batter. After reviewing a number of similar recipes, I came up with one that is simple and delicious, giving a thin, light and crispy coating for your favourite seafood. I haven’t tried it with veggies yet, but that’s next.

Rather than write it all out here, I suggest that you watch Curtis Stone’s video first. However, I changed his ingredients a little bit. He uses plain flour and plain ice water. For one pound of cod, I used a cup each of Self-Rising flour and mineral water poured over crushed ice. (Pelligrino if you must know. It was on special.) Otherwise, I followed his directions exactly.

I decided to go with self-rising flour and mineral water because of the extra “lift” you get with the baking powder in the flour and the bubbles in the water. But clearly Stone’s recipe works fine also. If you can’t find self-rising flour already made, you can add 1-1/2 teaspoons of baking powder and a 1/2 teaspoon of salt to 1 cup of all-purpose flour and use that.

A final comment: the batter should be VERY thin, as one recipe put it, like melted ice cream. I thought that my batter was too thin and added a bit more flour, but I could have left it the way it was. Still, with a few sautéed potato slices and homemade cole slaw, it was delicious. Of course fresh cod is BEST pan fried! But this is a nice change once in a while.

image

We did have leftovers, so this was my lunch today. I reheated the fish in a 350F oven for about 10 minutes; the batter recrisped nicely and the fish was not overcooked. Enjoy!

