Tomato Soup.

My mom made GREAT soup: chicken noodle, chicken with rice, vegetable, vegetable with beef…mmmmmm. But one thing I DON’T remember her making is tomato soup. We had it, but it came out of a can, usually Campbell’s. And I liked it!

Sometimes we would dilute it from the can with milk instead of water. Or put a blob of yoghurt or sour cream on top. But mostly it was just plain Campbell’s Cream of Tomato Soup. Later, as an adult, I would also add a few drops of Tabasco, and some chopped rosemary or parsley on top.

I used to live near a restaurant that has Tomato Jinn soup on the menu. The Jinn is actually Gin! I don’t know what else they do to it, but it is delicious. After I tried that, I would put a tot of gin in my doctored Campbell’s. Sometimes if I didn’t have gin, I used vodka instead. Whatever!

My local grocery store chain has it’s own brand of fresh soups; there used to be two tomato soups, one a bisque and one with Gorgonzola. Both yummy, although I haven’t seen the Gorgonzola one lately. Sometimes I buy a few on sale (there are ALWAYS sales!) and freeze them so that I don’t run out.

It isn’t that I haven’t used tomato in soup myself. When it comes to Clam Chowder, “I’ll take the red please.” LOVE Bouillabaise with a tomato base. But I have never made “just” tomato soup. I guess I thought that it would mean starting with fresh tomatoes and chopping and cooking and, well, a lot of hassle.

So I was delighted to see a recipe for Tomato-Fennel Soup that starts with a good brand of chopped tomatoes and goes from there. I guess it should have come as no surprise to me that it is from Melissa Clark at the New York Times. Sometimes I just want to BE her! The soup came out GREAT, tasted even better the next day. And I am always thrilled when my version looks like the “published” version!
Tomato-Fennel Soup

The recipe calls for toasted slices of baguette. But I had made some “No Knead” Buns, so I toasted some slices of that instead.
No Knead Buns

I have seen another recipe lately, for Tomato Soup with Goat Cheese. Might try that soon too!

One thought on “Tomato Soup.

Comments are closed.