When life hands you lemons…….

I make lemon curd. I was thrilled to receive a Meyer lemon tree this Spring! Apparently it is a more hardy variety, so that it can survive our Winters which, although warmer than some, can still get into the minus temperatures.

The last of this year's lemons.

The last of this year’s lemons.


I love the taste of lemon, actual lemon, not reconstituted. I also love the colour which, as you can see from my header photo, is lovely when set off by cobalt blue. Lemon is a feast for the tongue AND the eye and I think its most aesthetic use is in lemon curd.

The recipe I use is adapted from The Australian Women’s Weekly soft cover book called “The Book of Preserves”. It was published in 1990 and still my “go to” book for simple and tasty jams, jellies and the like. I say it is adapted because the original recipe calls for lemon and lime juice and I just substitute lemon juice for the whole thing. Here is the original recipe.

Lemon and Lime Butter (Lemon Curd)

180 grams unsalted butter, chopped
2 cups castor sugar
1/2 cup lemon juice
1 teaspoon grated lime rind
1/3 cup lime juice
4 eggs beaten, strained

Combine all ingredients in top half of double boiler. Stir over simmering water until mixture thickly coats the back of a wooden spoon. Pour into hot sterilized jars; seal when cold. Makes about 3 cups.

I prefer a tart curd, so besides using just lemon juice and rind, I cut the sugar (I use regular white) by about 1/4 cup and use a full cup of juice. Store the jars of curd in the fridge.

Ta da!

Ta da!

This is so good not only on toast, but also makes a great quick filling for tarts. Pre-bake or buy already baked tart shells and fill with curd. Instant dessert fit for company (or just you!).

